Edit Cookies

Autoritat del Transport Metropolità

The Autoritat del Transport Metropolità (Metropolitan Transport Authority or ATM) is a voluntary inter-administrative consortium set up in 1997, which all administrations can join that own collective public transport services, individually or via groups or bodies that represent them, which belong to the area comprising the counties of Alt Penedès, Anoia, Bages, Baix Llobregat, Barcelonès, Berguedà, Garraf, Maresme, Moianès, Osona, Vallès Occidental and Vallès Oriental.

The administrations within the consortium are the Catalan government or Generalitat de Catalunya (51%) and local governments (49%), namely Barcelona City Council (Ajuntament de Barcelona), Àrea Metropolitana de Barcelona (Metropolitan Area of Barcelona or AMB) and Associació de Municipis per la Mobilitat i el Transport Urbà (Association of Municipalities for Mobility and Urban Transport or AMTU). Also notable is the presence of representatives from the state central government (AGE) on ATM's governing bodies, as observers.

The aim of ATM is to organise the cooperation between the public administrations owning the collective public transport services and infrastructures in the area of Barcelona which form a part of it, as well as collaboration with those administrations which, such as the state government, are committed from a financial point of view or which own their own services or services that have not been assigned to other bodies.

For more information:


Last updated of this page (27/12/2019)